‘IN’ series makes re-registration of passenger vehicles easier, know how

'IN' series makes re-registration of passenger vehicles easier
Image credits: Pixabay

Now the process of re-registration of vehicles for those shifting from one state to another will become easier with the introduction of ‘IN’ series. The ministry of road transport and highways (MoRTH) issued a new notification in this regard on Wednesday. The draft rules are aimed at making the aforementioned process easier.

The ministry said the move aims to introduce citizen-centric steps and IT-backed solutions for vehicle registration.

“The step comes in the context of several citizen-centric steps and an IT-based solution for vehicle registration taken by the government,” the ministry said in a press release.

What are the existing rules?

Issues of re-registering the vehicle when moving from one state to another fall under section 47 of the Motor Vehicle Act, 1988. The act allows the owner to keep the vehicle in any state than the parent state for a period of 12 months because new registrations need to be done within 12 months.

Existing rules require individuals to get a no-objection certificate from the parent state and the road tax must be paid in the new state on a pro-rata basis. Owners must also begin a process of refund of the road tax paid for the vehicle in the previous state on a pro-rata basis. This process is complex and the rules vary from state to state.

‘IN’ series

Hence, the ministry has now proposed a new system on a pilot basis. Under this, the vehicle registration will be marked as ‘IN’ series instead of bearing the initials of the parent state. The ministry has posted the draft rule on its official website. The ministry has invited feedback on the same from states and UTs in the next 30 days.

“Vehicle registration facilities under ‘IN’ series will be available to Defence personnel, employees of the Central Government, State Governments, Central/ State PSUs and private sector companies/ organisations, which have offices in five or more States or Union Territories,” the ministry said in the release.

The road tax will be levied on ‘IN’ series for two years or in multiple of two.

ALSO READ: 007 Registration Number – Toyota Fortuner Owner Pays Rs 34 Lakh