West Bengal Polls: TMC releases list of candidates

West Bengal Polls TMC releases candidates list, Mamta to contest from Nandigram
Image Source: Mamta Banerjee/Instagram

Ahead of West Bengal assembly elections the Trinamool Congress (TMC) on Friday has released a list of 291 candidates. West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee released the list of all 291 candidates from her Kalighat residence in Kolkata.

The Trinamool has fielded 50 women, 35 Muslim candidates, 79 scheduled caste candidates and 17 Scheduled Tribe candidates. Apart from this, the party has left three seats for its ally Gorkha Janmukti Morcha.

“This time we have stressed on more youth and women candidates. Around 23-24 sitting MLAs have been dropped…” Mamta Banerjee said.

Mamta Banerjee to contest from Nandigram

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee will contest from Nandigram Legislative Assembly seat. In the press conference, she said, “I am leaving the Bhawanipur seat for Sobhandeb Chattopadhyay, I will only contest from Nandigram Vidhan Sabha Seat.” No candidate above 80 will contest from the Trinamool Congress, the Chief Minister announced.

West Bengal polls to be held in 8 phases

The Election Commission of India had annonced earlier that voting will be held in 8 phases in West Bengal. Elections will be held in the state on March 27, April 1, April 6, April 10, April 17, April 22, April 26 and April 29, while results will be announced on May 2.

In the first and second phases, polls will be held for 30 seats each while third phase will witness voting on 31 seats. In the fourth phase, voting will be conducted for 44 seats and for 45 seats in the fifth phase. Similarly, elections will be conducted for 43 seats in the sixth phase, 36 seats in the seventh phase and 35 seats in the eighth and final phase.

ALSO READ: ‘Metro Man’ E Sreedharan Is BJP’s CM Candidate For Kerala Elections