Do you know how cyclones are named? Read here in detail

Do you know how cyclones are named? Read here in detail
Representative Image from Pexel

Natural disasters have been there since time immemorial. We all keep reading and learning about cyclones. And out of all there are very few who that there is a way to name these cyclones worldwide.

Yes! you read it right, cyclones are named. This week Cyclone Tauktae is making News. It will soon become a severe cyclonic storm as the weather office has warned.

How cyclones are named?

The cyclones are named by the World Meteorological Organisation/United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (WMO/ESCAP) Panel on Tropical Cyclones (PTC).

This panel has 13 countries – India, Bangladesh, Myanmar, Pakistan, the Maldives, Oman, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Iran, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates and Yemen. Therefore, these 13 countries are do the naming in the region.

Moreover, in 2004 the group comprised eight countries then. It had finalised a list of 64 names.

Amphan, the cyclone that hit India last year in May, was the last name on that list. Nisarga cyclone that had originated in the Arabian Sea was named by Bangladesh.

Furthermore, in 2018, the WMO/ESCAP expanded the list with five more countries.

Apart from that, naming the cyclones also has its own benefits. This helps the scientific community including disaster management teams, and the general public to identify each cyclone. Naming them also helps in future reference.

ALSO READ: Richness Alert | Do You Know How Much This Private Island Of Bill Gates Costs?