Monday, May 29, 2023
HomeSportsAirtel Delhi Half Marathon (ADHM): A brief history

Airtel Delhi Half Marathon (ADHM): A brief history

Published Date:

The Airtel Delhi Half Marathon (ADHM) kicked off in Mumbai back in 2004 which is now known as the Tata Mumbai Marathon was an immense success and riding on its fame ADHM organised by Procam (Sports event management organisation) was shifted to the capital city – New Delhi in 2005. Since then the event rolled on for 15 editions. The 16th edition has been scheduled from November 25 to November 29.

Touted as one of the fastest courses in the world, the Airtel Delhi Half Marathon has consistently recorded the top five fastest HM timings in the world over the years.

Over the years, the event has headlined heavyweights from across the world like – former HM world record holder Zersenay Tadese from Eritrea, Florence Kilpagat from Kenya, Almaz Ayana from Ethiopia, Tirunesh Dibaba from Ethiopia have made their mark in the event.

Former world record Joyciline Jepkosgei from Kenya, specialised half marathon runner Worknesh Degefa from Ethiopia, the London 2012 Olympic Marathon Champion Stephen Kiprotich from Uganda and Rio Olympics 5th place marathon finisher Alphonce Sambu from Tanzania also had their influence in ADHM.

Rio Olympic gold medallist, Kenya’s own Eliud Kipchoge claimed the Airtel Delhi Marathon 2016 title. Some luminaries of global sports like Asafa Powell, Sanya Richards Ross, Carmalita Jetter, Daley Thompson, Jackie-Joyner Kersee, Sir Richard Hadlee, Alan Border and Cathy Freeman among others have endorsed the event as ambassadors.

What makes ADHM so special? The streets of Delhi furnished to be best in class. Supported by medical support system on the route, the roads are cleaned, sanitized for 21.09 kms. Besides, timing chip for runners, qualified personnel to ensure smooth conduct of the event across departments are also employed.

The race route for this unique distance running category takes you on some of the best landmarks in Delhi – Lodhi Garden, Jantar Mantar, the India Gate.

Listed as a Gold Label Road Race by the World Athletics Association, the Airtel Delhi Half Marathon is an AIMS-certified course.

Who are the past winners?

Edition Year Men’s Winner Women’s Winner
1 2005 Philip Rugut (KEN) Irina Timofeyeva (RUS)
2 2006 Francis Kibiwott (KEN) Lineth Chepkurui  (KEN)
3 2007 Dieudonné Disi (RWA) Deriba Alemu (ETH)
4 2008 Deriba Merga (ETH) Aselefech Mergia (ETH)
5 2009 Deriba Merga (ETH) Mary Keitany (KEN)
6 2010 Geoffrey Mutai (KEN) Aselefech Mergia (ETH)
7 2011 Lelisa Desisa (ETH) Lucy Wangui (KEN)
8 2012 Edwin Kipyego (KEN) Wude Ayalew (ETH)
9 2013 Atsedu Tsegay (ETH) Florence Kiplagat (KEN)
10 2014 Guye Adola (ETH) Florence Kiplagat (KEN)
11 2015 Birhanu Legese (ETH) Cynthia Limo (KEN)
12 2016 Eliud Kipchoge (KEN) Worknesh Degefa (ETH)
13 2017 Birhanu Legese (ETH) Almaz Ayana (ETH)
14 2018 Andamlak Belihu (ETH) Tsehay Gemechu (ETH)
15 2019 Andamlak Belihu (ETH) Tsehay Gemechu (ETH)

Fresh Stories

More like this

AICTE, SSUN organise workshop on ‘Implementation of NEP 2020 in Technical Education’

The All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE) and...

40 crocodiles kill Cambodian man after he tries to move one

A Cambodian man met a tragic fate on Friday...

New Parliament building inauguration: Centre to issue Rs 75 coin

On Thursday, the Union Government announced its plans to...

AICTE-EduSkills offers 1 lakh internships in 12 different domains

AICTE, in collaboration with EduSkills Foundation, aims to build...

Plea in SC seeks inauguration of new Parliament building by President

An advocate has filed a PIL with the Supreme...

Unlocking opportunities for smallholder farmers, National Conclave explores digital platforms

A National Conclave on Market Access for Smallholder Farmers,...

Bihar ranks third in best states in National Water Awards 2022

The state of Bihar has been ranked third in...

Fresh violence in Manipur: Houses set on fire in Imphal, army called in

Fresh incidents of violence were reported in Manipur on...

Market access for smallholder farmers: A national conclave to drive digital solutions

Grameen Foundation India, in collaboration with the Walmart Foundation,...

Rs 2000 currency notes withdrawal: Here’s how to deposit or exchange

As the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) has made...

Congress names Siddaramaiah as Karnataka CM, Shivakumar as deputy

The Congress on Thursday announced Siddaramaiah as the newly...

Global warming likely to breach 1.5C by 2027, warn scientists

The World Meteorological Organization has warned that there is...

Man arrested for smoking beedi on Bengaluru-bound Akasa Air flight

A man aged 56, who was onboard an Akasa...

Uttarakhand Sanskrit University registrar accused of corruption

A press conference was held at the Press Club...

National Atal Samman Ceremony held at Prime Minister’s Museum, honouring 18 dignitaries

On the occasion of the commemoration of the first...

TCS and Intellect in race for new GeM portal development tender

16th May, 2023 , Delhi: The Central Government had...

‘London plan is out’: Imran Khan claims Pakistan military plans to jail him for 10 years

Imran Khan, Pakistan's former Prime Minister, has made new...

Aryan Khan case: CBI FIR reveals ‘conspiracy’ to extort Rs 25 crore

The First Information Report (FIR) filed by the Central...

PM Modi congratulates Congress for Karnataka win: ‘Best wishes to them’

As Congress surpassed the 113-seat majority mark in the...

‘I’m unstoppable’: Rahul Gandhi features in video as Congress wins Karnataka

As per the early trends, the Congress party seems...