Australia vs India: A Statistical Review

A roar from the Melbourne Cricket Ground in Australia – We are not giving up without a fight! Sans India’s poster boy, the current captain of the sub-continent team Virat Kohli, the stand-in skipper Ajinkya Rahane pulled off a herculean feat to tame the Australian lions at their home soil on Tuesday. It was not only a statement for the home team but for the rest of the world, as well.

Rahane’s India defeated the hosts in the Boxing Day Test by 8 wickets to bring parity in the series, after a shambolic collapse in Adelaide. The Aussies stretched the innings to Day 4, credits to Pat Cummins and Cameron Green who kneaded a 51 runs partnership after being reduced to 99 for 6. The hosts averted an innings defeat and gave India a target of 70 runs to win.

Debutant Shubman Gill went all guns blazing besides Rahane’s confident batting. Despite losing Mayank Agarwal and Cheteshwar Pujara, India achieved the target in 15.5 overs.

Post victory, Rahane expressed, “Character was important for us, especially after losing Umesh in the second innings. The talk was all about showing the attitude and intent on the field. As I said, character. Adelaide was about one hour that took the game away from us. Lots to learn for even now.”

A statical review of India’s Test matches:

  1. Most wins for India at an overseas venue – 4 MCG, Melbourne (14 Tests), 3 Queen’s Park Oval, Port of Spain (13 Tests), 3 Sabina Park, Kingston (13 Tests), 3 SSC, Colombo (9 Tests). No other team apart from England has won more than three matches at the MCG.
  2. India’s 8 wicket win at MCG is now their 52nd away-Test win.
  3. India’s first away win when they have fielded first since Aug 2010 when they beat Sri Lanka at Colombo PSS.
  4. Ajinkya Rahane is the second Indian captain after MS Dhoni to win each of his first three Tests as captain.
  5. India’s 1st Test win in 2020.
  6. India’s previous win Australia after losing the toss and bowling first – the famous Adelaide Test of 2003.
  7. India now won back-to-back Test at the MCG in – 1977, 1980, 2018, 2020.
  8. Mohammed Siraj becomes the second-most wicket-taker after Sri Lanka’s Lasith Malinga for a debutant in Australia.
  9. India have won 5 matches against Australia in Australia since the start of this century.
  10.  Test results since the start of Border-Gavaskar Trophy in 1996 – 50 Tests: India have won 21, Australia have won 19 and they have drawn 10.