Ballon d’Or 2021: Messi beats Lewandowski, wins the golden ball for record seven times

credit: ESPN/twitter

Ballon d’Or is the most prestigious and decorated award of the soccer world and winning it for once is a dream for everybody.

There are only 10 players who have achieved the golden ball more than once in their entire career.

Lionel Messi created history by winning the Ballon d’Or 2021 and adding number 7 Ballon d’Or trophy in front of his name.

If you count out Cristiano Ronaldo who currently has 5 Ballon d’Or, Messi got more than twice Ballon d’Or Golden balls than anyone in the history of soccer.

The 34-year old won his first Ballon d’Or back in 2009 and Luis Saurez his former teammate was the one to present him his seventh Ballon d’Or.

The only controversy rolling around the award this time is that, people believe Robert Lewandowski deserved it more.

Due to covid, the Ballon d’Or 2020 was cancelled and Lewandowski was the biggest favourite to win it and he missed it by just a few numbers.

credit: ESPN/twitter

Fans believe it was the polish player that deserved it more and his feats were greater than Messi.

Messi’s message for Lewandowski

Lionel Messi is the most loved and decorated sports person in the world and he proved that yet again when he mentioned Robert Lewandowski.

He mentioned that Lewandowski is a great player and it was a really close contest and he is equally worthy of it.

“I don’t know how many years I have left, but I hope there will still be many because I am having enormous fun,” Messi said at the France Football ceremony where he picked up his seventh Ballon d’Or before praising Lewandowski, who was the favourite to win the 2020 Ballon d’Or until it was cancelled due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

“You deserve your Ballon d’Or,” the Argentine added. “Last year, everyone was in agreement to say that you were the big winner.”

credit: ESPN/twitter

Other Awards and highlights

Robert Lewandowski finished second in the voting while Jorginho third.

Barcelona start Alexia Putellas won the Women Ballon d’Or.

Chelsea was awarded with inaugural Club of the year award.

Robert Lewandowski won the striker of the year.

credit: ESPN/twitter

The Italy and PSG goalkeeper Gianluigi Donnarumma won the 2021 Yashin Trophy for the best goalkeeper beating Chelsea’s Edouard Mendy.

The Ballon d’Or 2021 was really exciting and historic and Messi will surely go down in history as the legend of the game and one of the Greatest of all time.

ALSO READ: IND Vs NZ, Test 1, Stump Day 5-Rahul Dravid Says Not To Worry About Rahane’s Form