BCCI AGM: 10-Team IPL from 2022, and other key points

The Board of Control for Cricket in India’s (BCCI) 89th AGM was held at Ahmedabad on Thursday, December 24. The apex cricket governing body approved the addition of two more teams to the cash-rich league, however, with less than four months left for the next IPL, it was decided to stick to eight teams for the 2021 edition. Cricket’s possible inclusion in the 2028 Los Angeles Olympics was also discussed in the meeting.

Here are some of the key decisions taken during the AGM:

  1. The General Body authorized the IPL Governing Council to include up to ten teams in the Indian Premier League. The IPL GC will work out the modalities regarding scheduling for up to 10 teams.
  2. The General Body also decided to seek further clarification from the ICC on their proposal to include cricket in the 2028 Los Angeles Olympics.
  3. The BCCI decided to restructure the National Cricket Academy and put up five NCAs across the country, in order to reduce the burden on the only facility at Bengaluru.
  4. The BCCI has decided to take some more time to take a final call on the issue of tax exemption to the ICC, for hosting the 2021 T20 World Cup, and will seek the permission of the Indian government in the meanwhile.
  5. The BCCI has decided to look for the possibility of hosting more domestic tournaments and have increased the medical insurance for all domestic cricketers from INR. 5 Lakh to 10 Lakh. The age of retirement for match referees and umpires has been changed from 55 to 60 years.
  6. While Rajiv Shukla took over as the vice president of BCCI, Pragyan Ojha joined Brijesh Patel and Khairul Majumdar in the IPL Governing Council.