Monday, June 5, 2023
HomeSportsFormula One: Lewis Hamilton equals Michael Schumacher’s record, wins Turkish GP

Formula One: Lewis Hamilton equals Michael Schumacher’s record, wins Turkish GP

Published Date:

On a wet and slippery Istanbul Park on Sunday, a teary Lewis Hamilton lifted his seventh Formula One world championship, hence equalling German great Michael Schumacher’s record. In the process, he became the most successful driver in F1 history. With the win in Turkey, Hamilton now has 94 career wins.

With more race wins, pole positions, and podium finish than anyone in the history of the sport, Hamilton added to his tally by winning the Turkish Grand Prix with three races to spare.

“Thank you so much guys…that’s for all the kids out there who dream the impossible. You can do it too man, I believe in you guys,” the Briton’s radio buzzed as he crossed the finish line.

Hamilton quipped at the post-match presser, “Seven is just unimaginable but when you work with such a great group of people and you really trust each other, there is just no end to what can do together. I feel like I’m only just getting started.”

Equalling the great Michael Schumacher’s record

Only Ferrari and Schumacher had seven titles before this. Let’s take a look at how both the racing greats compare:

Lewis Hamilton Michael Schumacher
Seven titles Seven titles
94 Career Wins 91 Career Wins
97 Pole Positions 68 Pole Positions
163 Podiums 155 Podiums
53 Fastest Laps 77 Fastest Laps
11 Wins in a Season 13 Wins in a Season
5 Successive Wins 7 Successive Wins
16 Successive Podiums 19 Successive Podiums
264 Careers Starts 306 Career Starts

Turkish Grand Prix at Istanbul Park – Result

Hamilton finished 31.6 seconds clear of the second-placed Sergio Perez. Red Bull’s Sebastian Vettel finished third which was his first podium this year. Ferrari’s Charles Leclerc took fourth place, after passing Perez on the last lap but then sliding wide, with Spaniard Carlos Sainz fifth for McLaren and Red Bull’s Max Verstappen sixth.

Red Bull’s Alexander Albon was seventh with Lando Norris eighth for McLaren and taking a bonus point for the fastest lap. Australian Daniel Ricciardo was 10th for Renault.


Fresh Stories

More like this

AICTE announces launch of ‘Bharath Cycle Design Challenge’

New Delhi, June 3, 2023 - The All India...

Odisha train accident: Heartbreaking video of father searching for son among the dead

A heart-breaking video of a grieving father looking for...

Shiv Sena Gives Slogan of ‘Jai Dilli ’to People of Delhi

New Delhi, June 3, 2023: Saluting Shiv Sena Chief...

Ashok Gehlot lays foundation stone of reconstruction of New Rajasthan House in Delhi

New Delhi/Jaipur, 29 May. Chief Minister Shri Ashok Gehlot...

Bihar: CM Nitish Kumar to lay foundation stone for Simaria Dham development

Begusarai, May 29, 2023: In yet another boost to...

AICTE, SSUN organise workshop on ‘Implementation of NEP 2020 in Technical Education’

The All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE) and...

40 crocodiles kill Cambodian man after he tries to move one

A Cambodian man met a tragic fate on Friday...

New Parliament building inauguration: Centre to issue Rs 75 coin

On Thursday, the Union Government announced its plans to...

AICTE-EduSkills offers 1 lakh internships in 12 different domains

AICTE, in collaboration with EduSkills Foundation, aims to build...

Plea in SC seeks inauguration of new Parliament building by President

An advocate has filed a PIL with the Supreme...

Unlocking opportunities for smallholder farmers, National Conclave explores digital platforms

A National Conclave on Market Access for Smallholder Farmers,...

Bihar ranks third in best states in National Water Awards 2022

The state of Bihar has been ranked third in...

Fresh violence in Manipur: Houses set on fire in Imphal, army called in

Fresh incidents of violence were reported in Manipur on...

Market access for smallholder farmers: A national conclave to drive digital solutions

Grameen Foundation India, in collaboration with the Walmart Foundation,...

Rs 2000 currency notes withdrawal: Here’s how to deposit or exchange

As the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) has made...

Congress names Siddaramaiah as Karnataka CM, Shivakumar as deputy

The Congress on Thursday announced Siddaramaiah as the newly...

Global warming likely to breach 1.5C by 2027, warn scientists

The World Meteorological Organization has warned that there is...

Man arrested for smoking beedi on Bengaluru-bound Akasa Air flight

A man aged 56, who was onboard an Akasa...

Uttarakhand Sanskrit University registrar accused of corruption

A press conference was held at the Press Club...

National Atal Samman Ceremony held at Prime Minister’s Museum, honouring 18 dignitaries

On the occasion of the commemoration of the first...