From 2003 to 2019: ICC Test Championship Mace Winners List

From 2003 to 2019: ICC Test Championship Mace Winners List
Image credit: @Twitter

The “ICC Test Championship” is an international cricket tournament organised by the International Cricket Council (ICC) for the ten Test-playing nations.

It’s basically a ranking system based on all Test matches played during the normal cricketing season.

The points earned for winning a Test match or series are distributed in such a way that if a team wins, it receives more points than its present rating, but if it loses, it receives fewer points, impacting the rating cumulatively.

A tie between two teams with different ratings will favour the lower-rated club at the expense of the higher-rated team.

On 1 April each year, the ICC Chief presents the ICC Test Championship mace to the team with the highest rating, along with a $1 million cash prize.

In Test cricket, Australia has always been dominating, having won the trophy eight times in the last 15 years.

Let’s take a look at the various teams that have won the prestigious award throughout the years.

AustraliaApril 2003
 AustraliaApril 2004
AustraliaApril 2005
 AustraliaApril 2006
 AustraliaApril 2007
 AustraliaApril 2008
 AustraliaApril 2009
 IndiaApril 2010
 IndiaApril 2011
 EnglandApril 2012
 South AfricaApril 2013
 South AfricaApril 2014
 South AfricaApril 2015
 AustraliaApril 2016
 IndiaApril 2017
 IndiaApril 2018
 IndiaApril 2019

Until the ICC World Test Championship was established in 2019, the top-ranked Test team was granted the ICC Test Championship mace.

The mace is now due from last 2 years, to be awarded to the champions of the ICC World Test Championship.

The World Test Championship is going on in Southampton between India and New Zealand. The winner will get the ICC Test Mace and $1.6 million.

ALSO READ: WTC FINAL-A Look At India’s Impressive Journey To Test C’ship Final