From Sachin to Afridi: Cricketers who donned Jersey number 10 in international cricket

From Sachin to Afridi: Cricketers who donned Jersey number 10 in international cricket
Image credit: Twitter

Jerseys are always an important component of cricket.

Every young aspiring cricketer dreams of wearing the national team’s colours.

The jersey numbers on a cricketer’s shirt may not seem important at the start of their careers, but they leave a legacy and a lot of memories at the end of a great career.

Jersey number 10 is one such number that has been worn by not one, but six well-known cricketers.

So, without further ado, here are the six players who have worn the number 10 jersey in international cricket.

Sachin Tendulkar

Image credit: Twitter

The number 10 jersey honours this renowned God of cricket, who is widely regarded as the greatest batsman of all time.

Sachin Tendulkar is the all-time leading run scorer in international cricket, including both tests and one-day internationals.

In his career, he amassed 34357 international runs and is the first batter in history to reach 100 international centuries.

All of these records were set while Sachin Tendulkar was wearing the number 10 jersey on his back.

He also wore the numbers 33 and 9, but the number 10 played a crucial role in his 24-year career, turning it into a memory etched in the hearts of a billion Indians.

Since a result of Sachin’s significance, the BCCI unofficially retired the number 10 shirt from Indian cricket as players refused to wear it out of respect to legend.

David Miller

Image credit: Twitter

In international cricket, David Miller is still a household name.

He has played in 134 One-Day Internationals and 81 Twenty20 Internationals for his country, South Africa.

Miller has worn the number 10 shirt in all of these games and will continue to do so for South Africa.

Not only that, but David Miller has worn the number 10 shirt for both of his IPL franchises.

Shahid Afridi

Image credit: Twitter

For the entirety of his international career, Shahid Afridi wore the number 10 shirt.

The Pakistani hero was regarded as one of the greatest all-rounders of his day.

For more than 21 years, Afridi wore the number 10 shirt for Pakistan in 27 tests, 398 ODIs, and 99 T20Is.

During this time, Afridi amassed 11,196 international runs and 541 international wickets, cementing his place in cricket’s history with this jersey number.

In 2017, Shahid Afridi announced his retirement from international cricket in all formats.

No other Pakistani player has worn the number 10 jersey since he retired.

Shardul Thakur

Image credit: Twitter

After Sachin Tendulkar, Shardul Thakur is the first Indian cricketer to wear the number 10 shirt for India.

On his ODI debut against Sri Lanka in 2017, he donned the number 10 jersey for the first time.

Shardul, on the other hand, was mocked on social media for this, with supporters requesting that the number be retired in honour of the great Sachin Tendulkar.

Shardul’s kit number was then altered to 54, and the BCCI unofficially retires the number 10 jersey in Indian cricket later that year.

Peter Siddle

Image credit: Twitter

Peter Siddle is a well-known Australian bowler who has represented his country in international cricket.

In his 11-year career, he represented Australia in 67 Tests, 20 ODIs, and two T20Is.

For the entirety of his career, Siddle wore the number ten jersey.

He took 221 test wickets, 17 ODI wickets, and three T20 wickets during this time.

Before retiring in 2019, Siddle wore number 10 from 2008 until 2019.

Allan Donald

Image credit: Twitter

Allan Donald, often known as the White Lightning, is a great South African pacer who has also worn the number 10 jersey in international cricket.

Donald was the first South African bowler to reach the 300-wicket mark in a test match.

After Steyn, Pollock, and Ntini, he is still South Africa’s fourth-highest wicket-taker in tests.

In a career spanning more than 12 years , Allan Donald represented South Africa in 72 tests and 164 One-Day Internationals.

ALSO READ: Sachin Tendulkar To Sanath Jaisurya: The True Gems Of ODI Cricket History