ICC announces expansion of Men’s ODI cricket world cup to 14 teams and T20 world cup to 20 teams

WTC FINAL: ICC announces prize money for C’ship winner and runner-up
Image credit: @ICC/ Twitter

The T20 World Cup will be stage every two years during the next eight-year Futures Tours & Programme (FTP) cycle.

While the 50 over tournament will expand to 14 teams starting in 2027, according to the International Cricket Council (ICC).

According to report by PTI, the WTC would have four rounds in the following cycle, with two Champions Trophy editions.

“The ICC Board today confirmed the schedule of ICC events from 2024-2031 with both the men’s Cricket World Cup and men’s T20 World Cup to be expanded and a men’s Champions Trophy to be re-introduced,” the global body said in a release issued after the board meeting.

ICC Expands Men’s ODI and T20 Cricket World Cup team

Image credit: Twitter

“The men’s Cricket World Cup will become a 14 team, 54-match event in 2027 and 2031, whilst the men’s T20 World Cup will be expanded to a 20 team, 55-match event in 2024, 2026, 2028 and 2030.”

The 50 over format is currently a 10 team competition. Whereas the T20 World Cup will have 16 teams this year.

ICC Champions Trophy is to return, with an eight-team

“An eight team Champions Trophy will be hosted in 2025 and 2029. World Test Championship Finals will be hosted in 2025, 2027, 2029 and 2031. The ICC Women’s event schedule has already been confirmed with the expansion of both the Cricket World Cup and T20 World Cup forming part of the ICC’s long-term commitment to growing the women’s game,” it further stated.

The men’s World Cup will be divide into two groups of seven players. The top three players from each group going to the Super Six stage. Followed by the semi-finals and final.

Image credit: Twitter

This is the same format as the last edition from 2003.

The T20 World Cup will be divide into four groups of five players. The top two players from each group progressing to the Super Eights stage. Followed by the elimination stages of semi-finals and finals.

The Champions Trophy will feature two groups of four, semi-finals, and a final, like in previous seasons.

Process for selecting hosts

The ICC Board also gave its approval to the process for selecting hosts for all men’s, women’s, and U-19 events.

Following a selection process that begins this month, the hosts for the men’s events will be announced in September.

In November, the women’s and U19 event hosting process will begin. Providing an opportunity to connect with a broader spectrum of Members, including first-time hosts.

“Having the ICC event schedule confirmed through to 2031 is a significant step forward for cricket and will form the basis of our growth strategy for the next decade,” ICC Acting Chief Executive Geoff Allardice said.

“The revised approach to selecting hosts for our events will give us much more flexibility to grow the game and engage new fans. There is a smaller pool of countries with the infrastructure needs to host our senior men’s events which narrows the selection process.”

“Additionally, many of our members expressed interest in hosting Women’s and U19 events which gives us a great opportunity to stage events in established and emerging cricket nations.”

ALSO READ: No Pain, No Gain-Did You Know How Many Runs These Legendary Bowlers Conceded In Their ODI Careers?