ICC: Border Gavaskar series 2020-2021 voted as ‘ultimate test series’ by fans

ICC: Border Gavaskar series 2020-2021 voted as ‘ultimate test series’ by fans
Image credit: @MohitRohitian/ Twitter

The International Cricket Council named the 2020-21 Border-Gavaskar Trophy match between India and Australia as the “Ultimate Test Series” on Tuesday (ICC).

“Ahead of the #WTC21 final, we set out to determine #TheUltimateTestSeries. After 15 head-to-heads and over seven million votes across our social channels, we have a winner… The 2020/21 Border-Gavaskar Trophy takes the crown,” the official handle of ICC tweeted.

The Border-Gavaskar Trophy for 2020-21 was a finalist, along with the 1999 series between India and Pakistan, and the former received the most votes in the end.

On the other hand, England and Australia met in the semi-finals of the 2005 Ashes series.

At the semi-final stage, the 2020-21 Border-Gavaskar Trophy was pick over the 2001 India vs Australia series.

The historic Kolkata Test, in which VVS Laxman and Rahul Dravid produced a spectacular comeback to hand Sourav Ganguly’s side an unexpected victory, is remembered fondly from the 2001 series.

India defeated Australia for the first time in a Test match at The Gabba since 1988 in the 2020-21 series, winning the four-match series 2-1.

The last time a visiting team won at the Brisbane Cricket Ground was in November 1988.

When Viv Richards’ formidable West Indian side thrashed Allan Border’s side by 9 wickets.

At the first Test against Australia, India was knock out for 36 runs in Adelaide, losing by 8 wickets

Virat Kohli, the captain, returned home after being granted paternity leave. But the team shows tremendous grit and will under Ajinkya Rahane to win the series.

Throughout the tour, the visitors were plague by injuries, but this did not dampen the spirits of the team. As a young side triumphed in the last Test at The Gabba.

ALSO READ: Anushka Sharma And Danielle De Villiers Share ‘Mom’s Special Bond’