Monday, June 5, 2023
HomeSportsICC Test mace winners: Teams who have won the mace more than...

ICC Test mace winners: Teams who have won the mace more than any other

Published Date:

The war between Team India and New Zealand is going on at this time to win the first title of the World Test Championship.

Fans are waiting for the moment when either team India or New Zealand will win the title of ICC World Test Championship.

Here’s the list of teams who have won the most times ICC test championship

South Africa 3 times

Image credit: Twitter

From 2013 to 2015, the South African team had won the ICC Test Championship mace for 3 consecutive times, performing brilliantly in comparison to the rest of the teams in Test cricket.

Under the captaincy of Graeme Smith, the team won the series against strong teams like England and Australia.

Before South Africa, this Test Championship mace was with the England team in the year 2012. However, after this the South African team did not get a chance to capture this mace.

India 5 times

Image credit: Twitter

The Indian team won the ICC Test Championship mace for the first time in the 2009-10 season under the captaincy of Mahendra Singh Dhoni.

After this, the team won the mace in 2011 also while maintaining its dominance in Test cricket.

In 2012, the England team snatched it from India, securing the first place in the rankings.

After which the Indian team again performed brilliantly in Test cricket under the captaincy of Virat Kohli in the year 2017 and secured the first position and has retained it for the next 5 seasons.

Australia 8 times

Image credit: Twitter

The ICC Test Championship was announced regarding the mace, the Australian team’s dominance was being seen in all formats of cricket at that time.

From 2003 to 2009, this mace was occupied by the Australian team for 7 consecutive seasons.

In the year 2010, the Indian team defeated them and named this mace in their name.

But in the year 2016, the Australian team won this mace once again under the captaincy of Steve Smith, but could not retain the title.

ALSO READ: Did You Know The Story Behind ICC Test Championship Mace? Now You Know

Priti Yadav
Priti Yadav
An aspiring journalist with thirst of exploring new things. Enthusiastic in field of Cricket. Admirer of MS Dhoni and obsessed with his winning sixes.

Fresh Stories

More like this

AICTE announces launch of ‘Bharath Cycle Design Challenge’

New Delhi, June 3, 2023 - The All India...

Odisha train accident: Heartbreaking video of father searching for son among the dead

A heart-breaking video of a grieving father looking for...

Shiv Sena Gives Slogan of ‘Jai Dilli ’to People of Delhi

New Delhi, June 3, 2023: Saluting Shiv Sena Chief...

Ashok Gehlot lays foundation stone of reconstruction of New Rajasthan House in Delhi

New Delhi/Jaipur, 29 May. Chief Minister Shri Ashok Gehlot...

Bihar: CM Nitish Kumar to lay foundation stone for Simaria Dham development

Begusarai, May 29, 2023: In yet another boost to...

AICTE, SSUN organise workshop on ‘Implementation of NEP 2020 in Technical Education’

The All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE) and...

40 crocodiles kill Cambodian man after he tries to move one

A Cambodian man met a tragic fate on Friday...

New Parliament building inauguration: Centre to issue Rs 75 coin

On Thursday, the Union Government announced its plans to...

AICTE-EduSkills offers 1 lakh internships in 12 different domains

AICTE, in collaboration with EduSkills Foundation, aims to build...

Plea in SC seeks inauguration of new Parliament building by President

An advocate has filed a PIL with the Supreme...

Unlocking opportunities for smallholder farmers, National Conclave explores digital platforms

A National Conclave on Market Access for Smallholder Farmers,...

Bihar ranks third in best states in National Water Awards 2022

The state of Bihar has been ranked third in...

Fresh violence in Manipur: Houses set on fire in Imphal, army called in

Fresh incidents of violence were reported in Manipur on...

Market access for smallholder farmers: A national conclave to drive digital solutions

Grameen Foundation India, in collaboration with the Walmart Foundation,...

Rs 2000 currency notes withdrawal: Here’s how to deposit or exchange

As the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) has made...

Congress names Siddaramaiah as Karnataka CM, Shivakumar as deputy

The Congress on Thursday announced Siddaramaiah as the newly...

Global warming likely to breach 1.5C by 2027, warn scientists

The World Meteorological Organization has warned that there is...

Man arrested for smoking beedi on Bengaluru-bound Akasa Air flight

A man aged 56, who was onboard an Akasa...

Uttarakhand Sanskrit University registrar accused of corruption

A press conference was held at the Press Club...

National Atal Samman Ceremony held at Prime Minister’s Museum, honouring 18 dignitaries

On the occasion of the commemoration of the first...