IND vs NZ 2021, 3rd T20: India bowled out Kiwis for the clean sweep win

Axar Patel
credit: Cricbuzz/twitter

Team India defeated New Zealand by 73 runs in the third and final T20 of the series and earned a clean sweep win.

This is a perfect start for the Rahul Dravid and Rohit Sharma era for Team India. There could have been no better inauguration.

Team India won the toss and elected to bat first and managed to put 184 runs on the scoreboard and then bowled out Kiwis on 111 to win the series.

Axar Patel was awarded with the player of the match for his splendid bowling spell of 3 wickets for 9 runs in 3 overs.

Rohit Sharma was awarded with the player of the series for his constant and blazing knocks throughout the series.

Match Summary

Team India won the toss and invited New Zealand to bowl first. Rohit Sharma and Ishan Kishan came to open the innings for India.

Both of them gave their team a great start and joined a 69 runs opening partnership.

credit: Cricbuzz/twitter

Mitchell Santner gave Kiwis their first break through in the 7th over in form of Ishan Kishan. He got out after scoring 29 runs of 21 balls.

He striked again in same over as he dismissed Surya Kumar Yadav on a four ball duck.

Mitchell Santner gave Team India their third blow in the very next over as he dismissed Rishabh Pant on the score of 4 runs of 6 balls.

Shreyas Iyer joined Rohit Sharma in the middle to progress the scoreboard. Hitman completed his half century.

Ish Sodhi gave India another blow and this time it was the Indian skipper Rohit Sharma. He got out after scoring 56 runs of 31 balls.

Shreyas Iyer was joined by Venkatesh Iyer and both of them progressed the scoreboard for a while.

credit: Cricbuzz/twitter

Trent Boult gave Kiwis the breakthrough in the 16th over and dismissed Venkatesh Iyer on the score of 20 of 15 balls.

Adam Milne dismissed the second set batsmen Shreyas Iyer in the very next over. He got out after scoring 25 runs of 20 balls.

Harshal Patel played a quick innings of 18 runs of 11 balls before his departure in the 19th over.

Deepak Chahar smashed 19 runs in the last over and helped Team India finish on 184 runs. He scored an unbeaten 21 of just 8 balls.

Team India put 184 runs on the scoreboard at the loss of 7 wickets.

credit: TOI/twitter

Martin Guptill and Daryl Mitchell came to open the innings for Kiwis and chase the target.

The openers failed to gave a start as Axar Patel dismissed Daryl Mitchell on the score of 5 runs of 6 balls in the third over itself.

Axar Patel dismissed Mark Chapman in the same over on a two ball duck. Then dismissed Glenn Phillips in his very next over on a four ball duck.

Tim Seifert joined Guptill to progress the scoreboard. Martin Guptill completed his half century, the sole Kiwi batsman to score more than 20 runs.

Yuzvendra Chahal gave Men in Blue their most important breakthrough in the 11th over and dismissed Martin Guptill on the score of 51 of 36 balls.

This was the beginning of the complete collapse of the Kiwi innings and Tim Seifert’s run out in the very next over put seal over that.

credit: Cricbuzz/twitter

Harshal Patel grabbed the wicket of James Neesham in the 13th over and sent him back on the score of 3 runs of 7 balls.

Kiwis lost another wicket in form of a run out in the very next over and this time it was Mitchell Santner.

Venkatesh Iyer dismissed Adam Milne in the 16th over on the score of 7 of 6 balls. Harshal Patel grabbed his second wicket of the night as he dismissed Ish Sodhi on the score of 9 on 11 balls in the 17th over.

Lockie Ferguson did fire some last shots but Deepak Chahar sent him back in the 18th over to pack the Kiwis’ innings up.

Team India won the match by 73 runs and grabbed a clean sweep victory over the Kiwis.

A perfect start to the new era of Rahul Dravid. There are many more tests and accomplishments ahead but this is a great start to it.

ALSO READ: IND Vs NZ 2021, 3rd T20-Rohit’s Fifty And Deepak Chahar’s Last Over Heroics Put 184 On Board