IND vs NZ, 2nd Test, Stump Day 2: Ajaz Patel picks 10 wickets, India still dominates the second day

credit: Cricbuzz/twitter

Team India is clashing against New Zealand in the second and final test match of the Test series.

Ajaz Patel became the third bowler to grab 10 wickets in a single innings adding his name next to the likes of Jim Laker and Anil Kumble.

India won the toss and elected to bat first and scored 325 runs in their first innings and then bowled out Kiwis on the score of 62.

Team India earned a 263 runs lead and is currently playing their second innings and were on the score of 69 at no loss by the stumps.

Cheteshwar Pujara and Mayank Aggarwal are still on the pitch with an unbeaten 69 runs opening partnership.

Stump Day 3 summary

The third day was started by Mayank Aggarwal and Wriddhiman Saha.

Mayank Aggarwal
credit: Cricbuzz/twitter

Two overs into the second day and Team India lost their fifth wicket in form of Wriddhiman Saha.

Ajaz Patel dismissed Ashwin on a golden duck in the very next ball and Kiwis had a great start to the day.

Mayank Aggarwal and Axar Patel did joined a crucial 67 runs partnership but a brilliant knock of 150 runs by Mayank Aggarwal was put to an end by Ajaz Patel.

Axar Patel completed his half century but eventually lost his wicket to Ajaz Patel after scoring 52 runs of 128 balls.

Ajaz Patel went up and dismissed all 10 Indian batsmen and earned a great feat to his name.

Team India got bowled out on the score of 325 all to the courtesy of Ajaz Patel, who grabbed 10 wickets.

credit: TOI/twitter

Tom Latham and Will Young came to open the innings for New Zealand and Team India was looking for quick wickets.

Mohammed Siraj did that as he broke the opening pair in the 4th over itself on the score of 10. He dismissed Will Young on 4 of 9 balls.

Then he dismissed the Kiwi skipper Tom Latham in the end of the same over. He got out after scoring 10 runs of 14 balls.

Now Daryl Mitchell and Ross Taylor were on the pitch but the duo couldn’t last for long as Siraj dismissed Ross Taylor on the score of 1 in his very next over.

Kiwi lost their first three wickets on the score of 17.

credit: TOI/twitter

Axar Patel gave Kiwis their fourth blow on the score 27 as he took the wicket of Daryl Mitchell. He got out after scoring 8 runs of 11 balls.

Just before Kiwis could settle from the earlier blows, Ashwin gave them their 5th blow and sent Henry Nicholls back on the score of 7.

Jayant Yadav grabbed his only wicket of the match by dismissing Rachin Ravindra on the score of 4 in 15 balls.

Then Ashwin striked again and this time it was Tom Blundell returning back to pavalion.

credit: TOI/twitter

Ashwin sent back Tim Southee and Will Somerville on duck. Axar Patel dismissed Kyle Jamieson in the very next over and ended the Kiwis innings on 62.

Team India earned a 263 runs lead but instead of putting the follow-on decided to bat again.

Mayank Aggarwal and Cheteshwar Pujara came to open the second innings for Team India and did an unbeaten 69 runs opening partnership at the stumps.

ALSO READ: IND vs NZ, 2nd Test, Stump Day 2-Ashwin and Siraj lead India’s comeback, Kiwis all-out for 62