India announce 20-man squad for WTC final, Test series against England

Image credit: @BCCI/ Twitter

The All-India Senior Selection Committee on Friday selected a 20-man Indian squad for the inaugural ICC World Test Championship (WTC) final against New Zealand and the five-match Test series against England.

India’s squad: Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), R. Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohd. Shami, Md. Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, KL Rahul (subject to fitness clearance), Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper; subject to fitness clearance).

Standby players: Abhimanyu Easwaran, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Arzan Nagwaswalla

No place for Hardik Pandya and Prithvi Shaw

Image Credit: Twitter

Selectors have sent a message: Hardik Pandya will not be included in the Indian team as a batsman unless he is fit to bowl.

He hasn’t played any Test in over three years.

Pandya had a forgettable IPL 2021 season. Scoring only 52 runs in seven innings and unable to bowl due to a niggle.

In the current situation, he could have just served as a hindrance to the Indian squad.

Image credit: Twitter

Prithvi Shaw, on the other hand, was overlooked despite scoring 827 runs in the Vijay Hazare Trophy. He scored four tonnes, and having a fantastic IPL season.

With the aid of three fifties, he scored 308 runs and finished second in the Orange Cap race.

Both KL Rahul, who had appendicitis surgery recently, and Wriddhiman Saha, who tests positive for Covid-19, have been in the 20-man squad, subject to passing fitness tests.

On the other hand, after injuries, Ravindra Jadeja and Hanuma Vihari have returned to the Test squad.

The first stop for Team India will be Southampton, where they will face New Zealand in a Test match to determine the first champion of the format.

India finished as the No. 1 team with 72.2 percentage points and qualified for the final after a 3-1 victory over England at home.

ALSO READ: 5 Times Hardik Pandya Hit A Hattrick Of Sixes