IPL 2021: England players Bairstow, Malan, Woakes withdraw from 2nd phase of IPL

IPL 2021
Image credit: Twitter

IPL 2021: Sunrisers Hyderabad opener Jonny Bairstow, Punjab Kings batsman Dawid Malan, and Delhi Capitals all-rounder Chris Woakes have all withdrawn from the Indian Premier League (IPL).

According to the Guardian, the decision to forgo the IPL was made due to England’s tight schedule.

Woakes, who is a member of England’s T20 team and will play in the Ashes if the series is rescheduled, sees the next weeks as an opportunity to spend time with his family.

Malan and Bairstow are both in the T20 squad, having returned to England’s Test side for the series against India.

The three players were part of the India vs England series; which came to an abrupt end when the 5th Test was called off two hours before the scheduled start time due to concerns over the spread of Covid-19 in the Indian camp.

While a few Indian players from various IPL teams have already flown out of England to the UAE, the England players who will play in the league are expected to leave today.

Moeen Ali and Sam Curran are among the ten England players to play in the IPL; along with Tom Curran, George Garton, Eoin Morgan, Chris Jordan, Adil Rashid, Liam Livingstone, and Jason Roy.

Bairstow has been a key member of the SRH squad; appearing in all 7 games in the first half and hitting 248 runs.

Woakes is a Delhi Capitals all-rounder who has played three games for the team this season; whilst Malan, also the No. 1 ranked T20 player, has only played one game for Punjab Kings.

Meanwhile, PBKS has appointed Aiden Markram of South Africa as Malan’s replacement.

ALSO READ: IPL 2021-Delhi Capitals Teams’ ‘Unforgettable Night Of Laughter’ In UAE – Watch