IPL 2021, Final CSK vs KKR: CSK beat KKR and become 4 time IPL champion

credit: CSK/twitter

IPL 2021 has reached it’s conclusion with the dominant victory of Chennai Super Kings over Kolkata Knight Riders.

Chennai Super Kings with this win has recorded their fourth IPL championship and MS Dhoni once again proved with an example why he is the world’s best captain.

Kolkata Knight Riders won the toss and elected to bowl first. CSK batting first scored 192 in 20 over at the loss of 3 wickets and then managed to restrict KKR on 165.

Faf Du Plessis was awarded with player of the match for his splendid knock of 86 in 59 balls which played the most crucial role in 27 runs victory over KKR.

Match Summary

KKR won the toss and invited CSK to bat first. Du Plessis and Ruturaj Gaikwad came to open the innings for CSK.

Both batsmen showcased their tremendous form and gave team a good start. Gaikwad and Du Plessis did an opening partnership of 61 runs.

CSK lost their first wicket in form of Gaikwad in the 9th over to Sunil Narine. Gaikwad got out after scoring 32 of 27 balls.

Then Robin Uthappa joined Du Plessis in middle and started to progress the scoreboard in blazing fashion.

Robin Uthappa played brisk knock of 31 runs in 15 balls before his departure on Sunil Narine’s delivery. Narine gave CSK their second blow in the 14th over.

This could have been the chance KKR could have capitalise but their bowling failed to out brakes on the CSK run express.

Faf Du Plessis then was joined by Moeen Ali and both of them kept on progressing the scoreboard in same aggressive fashion and Du Plessis even completed his half century.

credit: IPL/twitter

Faf got out on the last ball of their innings in an attempt to score big. Faf scored 86 runs in 59 balls and Moeen Ali scored an unbeaten 37 of 20 balls. Both batsmen helped CSK finish with 192 on board.

Shubman Gill and Venkatesh Iyer came to open the innings for KKR and chase the target.

Both batsmen gave team a much needed start and did an opening partnership of 91 runs.

KKR didn’t lose a single wicket in the first half of their innings as both openers depicted great temperament and progressed the scoreboard with the required pace.

KKR list their first wicket in the 11 over in form of Venkatesh Iyer. he got out after scoring 50 of 32 balls on Shardul Thakur’s delivery.

credit: IPL/twitter

Shardul Thakur took the wicket of Rana in the same over to conclude the over by giving KKR their second blow.

After this point it was the beginning of the downfall of KKR’s innings, between the 11th over and the 17th over KKR lost 8 wickets in span of 34 runs.

No one from KKR’s middle order could even manage to score a double digit score and resulting in complete collapse of the batting line-up.

Both KKR openers score half a ton with Iyer scoring 50 of 32 balls and Gill scored 51 of 43 balls.

Lockie Ferguson and Shivam Mavi did show some last vain efforts but helped his team closed the gap and save their team from a much worse embarrassing loss.

credit: IPL/twitter

Ferguson scored 18 of 11 balls and Mavi scored 20 of 13 balls and helped their team reach 165 in 20 overs at the loss of 9 wickets.

The comeback that CSK bowlers made in the second half of the KKR innings was no less than a miracle for the yellow army across the globe.

Shardul Thakur grabbed 3 wickets, Hazlewood and Jadeja finishing with 2 each played the major role in turning the table and making CSK the four time champions.

CSK last year finished at number 7 and was the worst performance of their IPL career, a journey form that point to the IPL trophy is no less than an inspiration.

KKR depicted great performance this season, they too were on the the 7th position at the beginning of the second half of IPL 2021. They too had great season from number 7 to the finals but luck was not on their side tonight.

The world’s biggest cricket league has now concluded another season with our CSK as our champions.

ALSO READ: IPL 2021, Qualifier 2 KKR Vs DC-KKR Knock DC Out To Reach The Final