IPL 2021: Kane Williamson replaces David Warner as SRH captain

IPL 2021 SRH Captain
Image Credits: @IPL/Twitter

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) has announced New Zealand International Kane Williamson as the new captain. Williamson will be replacing Australian David Warner, the team stated in an official release. The 2016 IPL champions haven’t been able to turn their fortunes in the 14th edition of the ongoing tournament. Having lost 5 of their 6 games, Hyderabad are currently at the bottom of the IPL 2021 table.

SRH official statement

David Warner led Sunrisers Hyderabad to IPL triumph in 2016. Despite being champions once, SRH have been consistent in making the playoffs. Warner has been nothing less than an ideal leader. However, things haven’t gone according to plan this year.

Starting off with a loss against Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), Warner and Co. have managed to win just one out of their last six games. Despite being packed with the likes of Jonny Bairstow, Rashid Khan and Kane Williamson, SRH haven’t been able to make an impact.

Williamson, who is the captain of New Zealand International cricket team, has quite the ability to lead the side. As he did during Warner’s absence due to the ban. Williamson has also been consistently anchoring the team out of scrappy situations. The change comes out of desperation as Hyderabad are currently at the bottom of the table with just 2 points.

Warner has been leading the side since 2014. However, he has also failed to get going with the bat this year. The three-time Orange Cap winner, Warner might also be able to concentrate on his batting with the captaincy now relieved from his shoulder.