IPL 2021, Qualifier 2 KKR vs DC: KKR knock DC out to reach the final

credit: IPL/twitter

IPL 2021 is now just days away from this season’s finale. We now have our two finalist in KKR and CSK.

KKR defeated DC in a last over thriller by 3 wickets to achieve the spot in the final next to CSK. This will be the second time in IPL history that these two teams will be against each other in the IPL final.

KKR won the toss and elected to bowl first and second even managed to restrict Delhi on 135 and then chased it in a thrilling last over with 3 wickets and 1 ball remaining.

Venkatesh Iyer was awarded with the player of the match for his splendid knock of 55 in 41 balls and playing a crucial role in the do or die match.

Match Summary

KKR won the toss and invited Delhi Capitals to bat first. Prithvi Shaw and Shikhar Dhawan came to open the innings for Delhi.

Both the players did start well and were heading towards a good score until Varun Chakravarthy gave Delhi their first blow in the 5th over.

credit: IPL/twitter

Shaw lost his wicket to Chakravarthy after scoring 18 of 12 balls.

After that Stoinis came to the pitch and progressed the scoreboard along with Dhawan carefully.

Just when Delhi could think of settling down, Shivam Mavi gave Delhi their second blow in the 12th over in form of Stoinis.

Varun Chakravarthy then striked again and this time it was Shikhar Dhawan. He got out after scoring 36 of 39 balls.

credit: IPL/twitter

Lockie Ferguson in the very next over took the wicket of the Delhi skipper Pant and threw Delhi on backfoot.

Iyer and Hetmyer stood for a while and progressed the scoreboard to a respectful total but Hetmyer got run out in the 19th over after scoring 17 of 10 balls.

Iyer kept on scoring and even fired some shots in the last overs to help his team reach a total of 135 in 20 overs at the loss of 5 wickets. Iyer returned after scoring an unbeaten 30 of 27 balls.

Shubman Gill and Venkatesh Iyer came to open the innings for KKR and chase the target.

Both the openers gave team the much needed start and made it seem that KKR will have an one sided victory in the match.

credit: IPL/twitter

Iyer and Gill did a 96 runs partnership which played the most crucial role in KKR’s victory. The breakthrough came in the 13th over by Rabada in form of Iyer.

Iyer before his departure played the crucial half century of 55 runs in 41 balls.

After that Gill and Rana progressed the innings but Delhi managed to slow down the pace of KKR’s chase.

Delhi got their second breakthrough in form of Rana in the 16th over as Nortje sent Rana back on 13.

In the very next over Avesh Khan took the wicket of set Batsman Shubman Gill. He scored 46 of 46 balls before his departure.

credit: IPL/twitter

This was the comeback point for Delhi Capitals, earlier what seemed to be an one sided assault suddenly turned all the tables.

KKR’s next four Batsmen got out without scoring a single run. Karthik, Morgan, Shakib and Narine all got out on duck.

Delhi grabbed 5 wickets in the last four overs and only conceived a total of 6 runs in the 17th, 18th and the 19th over turning the table completely.

Even in the last over Ashwin grabbed two wickets and made it seemed as if Delhi will finally win this match after so much efforts but Rahul Tripathi hit a six on the 5th ball of the last over and ensured his team’s victory.

credit: IPL/twitter

Rahul Tripathi scored an unbeaten 12 of 11 balls, an underrated cameo which in spite of all efforts from Delhi stole the victory from their clutches in a single ball.

KKR now will play their third IPL final and second against CSK. KKR really showcased a splendid performance in the second half of the IPL 2021 and rise from the bottom to the finals.

DC had a great season but it didn’t had the happy ending they had in mind in spite of all the efforts.

ALSO READ: IPL 2021, Eliminator KKR Vs RCB-KKR Knock RCB Out To Enter The Qualifier 2