IPL 2021 Schedule: IPL returns to India, to start from April 9

IPL 2021 Schedule
Image Credits: @BCCI/Twitter

After nearly two years, the IPL extravaganza will return home as the Governing Council on Sunday announced the schedule for the Indian Premier League 2021. BCCI released a statement saying the cash-rich league will commence from April 9. Ahmedabad, Bengaluru, Chennai, Delhi, Mumbai, and Kolkata will be hosting the marquee event, due to Covid protocols. 

IPL returns to India

The 14th season of the IPL will kickstart on 9th April 2021 in Chennai. Out of the 56 league matches, Chennai, Mumbai, Kolkata, and Bengaluru will host 10 matches. While Ahmedabad and Delhi will host 8 matches each. The newly-built stadium Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad will host its first ever IPL. The world’s largest cricket stadium will host the Playoffs as well as the final on 30th May, 2021. 

ALSO READ: MS Dhoni And Players In Chennai Ahead Of CSK Training

There will be a total of 11 doubleheaders in IPL 2021. 6 teams will play three-afternoon matches and two teams will play two-afternoon matches. The afternoon games are slated for a 3:30 PM IST start while the evening games will have a 7:30 PM IST start.

Every team will travel only three times during the league stage, thus reducing commute and minimising risk. The tournament this year at home will be played behind closed doors to begin with and a call on allowing spectators will be taken at a later stage of the tournament.

Safety first

BCCI mentioned in its statement, “After hosting the tournament safely and successfully in the UAE last year with all safety protocols in place, the BCCI is confident of hosting the IPL at home with health and safety of players and all people involved being paramount.”

Watch this space of The Vocal News for more Sports and Cricket Updates!