Manchester City crowned PL champions after Man United’s loss vs Leicester

Manchester City
Image Credits: @ManCity/Twitter

On Tuesday, a depleted Manchester United were defeated 2-1 at home by Leicester City, ending Manchester City’s wait for the Premier League title. After Mason Greenwood had cancelled out Luke Thomas’ opener for the hosts, Caglar Soyuncu scored a thumping header to give Leicester all three points.

United’s loss, City’s triumph

With just three games remaining for both clubs, the result put Manchester City 10 points ahead of United, ensuring Pep Guardiola’s third Premier League title in five seasons.

Despite a weekend loss at home to Chelsea, City have had a remarkable turnaround this season after starting with 12 points in their first eight games, their worst start since 2008-09.

ALSO READ: Cricketers Jasprit Bumrah, Smriti Mandhana Get Covid 19 Vaccine

They won 22 of their next 27 matches since losing to Tottenham Hotspur in November, including a 15-game winning streak and a league-record-tying 11 consecutive away league wins.

Boss Guardiola

The title is the most recent achievement of Guardiola’s illustrious career at the club. Guardiola won his first league title at City a season since joining the club in 2016, when he oversaw a fantastic season in which the club set a league record with 100 points.

City won the championship the following season, with Guardiola’s side coming one point ahead of Jurgen Klopp’s Liverpool in a dramatic title chase. Guardiola has won the League Cup four years in a row, as well as the FA Cup in 2019, in addition to domestic league titles.

Guardiola has now secured three league titles in each of the three divisions of which he has controlled, following his victories in La Liga with Barcelona and the Bundesliga with Bayern Munich.