| On 1 year ago

Purple Cap winners in IPL history – from 2008 to 2020

By TVN Bureau

The Purple Cap is awarded to the leading wicket-taker in the Indian Premier League (IPL). The Purple Cap was introduced on 13 May 2008.


The bowler with most wickets in the tournament during the course of the season wears the Purple Cap while fielding, with the overall leading wicket-taker at the conclusion of the tournament winning the actual Purple Cap award on the day of the season’s final. In case of a tie, the bowler with superior economy rate holds the Purple Cap.

With the season 14 of the IPL kicking off from April 9, The Vocal News brings you the list of Purple Cap winners in the history of IPL.


Purple Cap winners in IPL history

Sohail Tanvir – 2008

Playing for Rajasthan Royals, the champion team of inaugural season in 2008, Sohail Tanvir became the first player to win the Purple Cap.


RP Singh – 2009

Deccan Chargers clinched the IPL trophy in second season (2019) by thrashing RCB in finals, while team’s fast bowler RP Singh emerged as the Purple Cap winner.

Pragyan Ojha – 2010

Taking 21 wickets in the 2010 season, Pragyan Ojha became the first spinner to win the Purple cap.

Lasith Malinga – 2011

Lasith Malinga won the Purple Cap in 2011 season of IPL. The Sri Lankan bowling great owns the record of picking up most wickets in this league.

Morne Morkel – 2012

Morne Morkel, the highest wicket-taker in IPL 2012, emerged as the Purple Cap winner.

Dwayne Bravo – 2013, 2015

While playing for Chennai Super Kings in IPL 2013, Dwayne Bravo won the Purple Cap. Bravo took the most wickets in the season with 32 wickets in 18 matches. He won his second Purple Cap as he took 26 wickets in his 16 matches.

Mohit Sharma – 2014

CSK’s Mohit Sharma picked 23 wickets in 16 matches and won the Purple Cap.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar – 2016, 2017

Playing for Sunrisers Hyderabad, Bhuvneshwar Kumar won the IPL Purple Cap in two consecutive editions.

Andrew Tye – 2018

Andrew Tye is the only Australian bowler to win the IPL Purple Cap. He picked 24 wickets during 14 matches in the 11th edition of the IPL.

Imran Tahir – 2019

CSK’s Imran Tahir won the Purple Cup (highest wicket-taker) in the last edition of the IPL.

Kagiso Rabada – 2020

Delhi Capitals’ fast bowler Kagiso Rabada claimed the Purple Cap in 2020 as he picked 30 wickets in 17 matches.

ALSO READ: Batsmen With Most Runs in IPL – From Virat Kohli To Shikhar Dhawan