Friday, June 2, 2023
HomeSportsT20 World Cup 2021: Aussies and Kiwis similar journey to the final

T20 World Cup 2021: Aussies and Kiwis similar journey to the final

Published Date:

T20 World Cup is just hours away from reaching the conclusive point with Australia and New Zealand clashing against each other in the Final of T20 World Cup 2021.

Both Australia and New Zealand earned a thrilling victory over their respective opponents in the semifinals.

This will be their first meeting against each other in an ICC tournament final after the 2015 World Cup final, where Aussies grabbed a victory over Kiwis.

Our Finalist also shared quite similar journey to reach their current spot in the World Cup.

Similar Journey to the Finals

Australia and New Zealand after winning against all odds are the final two teams of the T20 World Cup 2021.

Australia and New Zealand were in separate groups in the beginning of the tournament and both of them finished second in their respective groups.

New Zealand
credit: Cricbuzz/twitter

Both of them lost only one match during super stage and that too to the respective table toppers. Kiwis lost against Pakistan and Aussies faced a loss against England.

Aussies and Kiwis were in the race to semifinals against the number 3 teams of their respective groups and had to wait and win their last matches to get ahead of them.

Kiwis had to beat Team India and Australia had to get over the Proteas named obstacle to reach the Semifinals.

Both of them finished the super 12 stage with 8 points.

Their respective Semifinals matches hold quite a few similarities.

Both of them entered as the underdog in the match and both of them won the toss and elected to bowl first.

New Zealand grabbed 4 wickets of the English side while bowling first and Aussies too managed to grab 4 wickets of Pakistan in the first innings.

Both Aussies and Kiwis won the match by 5 wickets and 6 balls remaining and both of them earned the semi finals victory with a boundary.

Daryl Mitchell hit Chris Woakes for a four and Matthew Wade smashed Shaheen Afridi for a huge six. Both Chris Woakes and Shaheen Afridi were also the bowlers to gave the initial blow to Kiwis and Aussies.

These statistics might just be a matter of Coincidence but are really amusing to witness.

Both Australia and New Zealand will be coming to win their first ever T20 World Cup and an amazing coincidence yet again is that none of them have ever won the T20 World Cup before.

We will surely get a new T20 World champion after a really thrilling contest.

This is the fourth ICC final for Kiwis in past 6 years and they will be looking forward to avenge their 2015 final lost against the Aussies.

On the other hand Australia will be looking forward to grab another victory over the Kiwis.

ALSO READ: T20 World Cup 2021-Pakistan’s ‘Mujhe Maro’ Guy Reacts After Hasan Ali Trolled Brutally

Multi-media Journalist, Nikhil works as a Sub-Editor at The Vocal News. A sports enthusiast, who loves to follow and write about sports - Cricket, Football, Tennis, WWE, and many others. He is also a Movie cum Sports enthusiast and enjoys music. He has done Graduation in Journalism and Mass Communication from Chaudhary Charan Singh University.

Fresh Stories

More like this

Ashok Gehlot lays foundation stone of reconstruction of New Rajasthan House in Delhi

New Delhi/Jaipur, 29 May. Chief Minister Shri Ashok Gehlot...

Bihar: CM Nitish Kumar to lay foundation stone for Simaria Dham development

Begusarai, May 29, 2023: In yet another boost to...

AICTE, SSUN organise workshop on ‘Implementation of NEP 2020 in Technical Education’

The All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE) and...

40 crocodiles kill Cambodian man after he tries to move one

A Cambodian man met a tragic fate on Friday...

New Parliament building inauguration: Centre to issue Rs 75 coin

On Thursday, the Union Government announced its plans to...

AICTE-EduSkills offers 1 lakh internships in 12 different domains

AICTE, in collaboration with EduSkills Foundation, aims to build...

Plea in SC seeks inauguration of new Parliament building by President

An advocate has filed a PIL with the Supreme...

Unlocking opportunities for smallholder farmers, National Conclave explores digital platforms

A National Conclave on Market Access for Smallholder Farmers,...

Bihar ranks third in best states in National Water Awards 2022

The state of Bihar has been ranked third in...

Fresh violence in Manipur: Houses set on fire in Imphal, army called in

Fresh incidents of violence were reported in Manipur on...

Market access for smallholder farmers: A national conclave to drive digital solutions

Grameen Foundation India, in collaboration with the Walmart Foundation,...

Rs 2000 currency notes withdrawal: Here’s how to deposit or exchange

As the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) has made...

Congress names Siddaramaiah as Karnataka CM, Shivakumar as deputy

The Congress on Thursday announced Siddaramaiah as the newly...

Global warming likely to breach 1.5C by 2027, warn scientists

The World Meteorological Organization has warned that there is...

Man arrested for smoking beedi on Bengaluru-bound Akasa Air flight

A man aged 56, who was onboard an Akasa...

Uttarakhand Sanskrit University registrar accused of corruption

A press conference was held at the Press Club...

National Atal Samman Ceremony held at Prime Minister’s Museum, honouring 18 dignitaries

On the occasion of the commemoration of the first...

TCS and Intellect in race for new GeM portal development tender

16th May, 2023 , Delhi: The Central Government had...

‘London plan is out’: Imran Khan claims Pakistan military plans to jail him for 10 years

Imran Khan, Pakistan's former Prime Minister, has made new...

Aryan Khan case: CBI FIR reveals ‘conspiracy’ to extort Rs 25 crore

The First Information Report (FIR) filed by the Central...