Monday, May 29, 2023
HomeSportsT20 World Cup 2021, Final, AUS vs NZ: Aussies lift their maiden...

T20 World Cup 2021, Final, AUS vs NZ: Aussies lift their maiden T20 World Cup, Marsh outshines Williamson

Published Date:

T20 World Cup 2021 has reached it’s conclusion with Australia defeating New Zealand by 8 wickets to win their first ever T20 World Championship and became the sixth ever team to win the T20 World Cup.

This is the second time that Aussies have defeated Kiwis in the final of a World Cup and stole their chances to lift the World Cup.

Australia won the toss and elected to bowl first. Kiwis batting first managed to score 172 at the loss of 5 wickets in 20 overs and Aussies chased it with 8 wickets and 7 balls remaining.

Mitchell Marsh was awarded with the player of the match for his splendid knock of unbeaten 77 runs of 50 deliveries.

David Warner was awarded with the player of the tournament for his amazing batting throughout the tournament. He was struggling a bit in the beginning but turned out to be the most important asset by the end and even scored a crucial half century in the finals.

Match Summary

Australia won the toss and invited New Zealand to bat first. Martin Guptill and Daryl Mitchell came to open the innings for New Zealand.

credit: TOI/twitter

The openers failed to gave their team a start as Josh Hazlewood gave Kiwis their first blow in the fourth over itself.

Daryl Mitchell got out after scoring 11 runs of 8 balls. Kiwis lost their hero of Semifinals early in the innings.

The Skipper Kane Williamson came into join Guptill and progress the scoreboard. Both of them joined 48 runs and helped Kiwis in the early innings.

New Zealand’s run rate in the first 10 overs was below 6 as they could only manage to score 57 runs in the first 10 overs at the loss of 1 wicket.

Australia in the very next over of Mitchell Starc lost the chance to grab the crucial wicket of Kane Williamson as Josh Hazlewood dropped his catch on the boundary lane. A mistake Aussies went on regretting by the end of the innings.

Kane Williamson
credit: Cricbuzz/twitter

Kane Williamson then went on smashing three consecutive boundaries in the same over.

Adam Zampa gave Aussies a much needed breakthrough in the 12th over as he dismissed Martin Guptill on the score of 28 balls of 35 balls.

Glenn Phillips joined Kane Williamson who completed his half century in the 13th over.

Williamson changed the gear and started firing blazing shots and even smashed 22 runs in the 16th over of Mitchell Starc.

Phillips and Williamson joined a quick 68 partnership out of which Glenn Phillips only scored 18 runs.

Josh Hazlewood came in aid of the Aussies as he dismissed both the set batsmen in the same over. Glenn Phillips got out after scoring 18 runs of 17 balls.

credit: Cricbuzz/twitter

Kane Williamson played a great and crucial knock of 85 runs of just 48 balls and helped his side to reach a respectable total.

Now James Neesham and Tim Seifert were on the pitch with the role of giving their team a big finish.

Both of them joined 23 runs in the last two overs and helped their side finish with 172 on the scoreboard.

Kiwis could only score 57 in the first half of the innings and then smashed 115 in the second half. They finish their innings on 172 at the loss of 4 wickets.

David Warner and Aaron Finch came to open the innings for Australia and chase the target.

They failed to gave the start as Trent Boult dismissed the skipper Aaron Finch on the score of 5 on 7 balls in the third over itself.

credit: TOI/twitter

Mitchell Marsh joined Warner and progressed the scoreboard. Both played a sensible innings and even fired blazing shots.

They joined a 92 runs crucial partnership and helped their side in the early and middle overs. Warner completed his half century in the 11th over by smashing a six on Neesham’s ball.

Trent Boult gave Kiwis their much required break through in the 13th with the big wicket of David Warner.

David Warner got out after scoring an amazing knock of 38 balls.

Maxwell joined Marsh who completed his half century 14th over in a similar manner to Warner by smashing a six on Ish Sodhi’s delivery.

Both of them lead the innings from there and ensured that Aussies win their first ever T20 World Championship.

credit: TOI/twitter

Mitchell Marsh smashed an unbeaten 77 of 50 balls and Maxwell returned after scoring 28 of 18 balls not out.

Aussies chased the target with 8 wickets and 7 balls remaining and won the T20 World Cup 2021.

Trent Boult was the only bowler from Kiwis to grab wickets. He finished with 2 wickets for just 18 runs out of which 10 runs came in his last over.

This is the second occasion where Australia have defeated New Zealand in an ICC tournament final after the 2015 World Cup final.

ALSO READ: T20 World Cup 2021, Final, AUS vs NZ: Kane Williamson’s captaincy knock help Kiwis reach 172 in the Final

Multi-media Journalist, Nikhil works as a Sub-Editor at The Vocal News. A sports enthusiast, who loves to follow and write about sports - Cricket, Football, Tennis, WWE, and many others. He is also a Movie cum Sports enthusiast and enjoys music. He has done Graduation in Journalism and Mass Communication from Chaudhary Charan Singh University.

Fresh Stories

More like this

AICTE, SSUN organise workshop on ‘Implementation of NEP 2020 in Technical Education’

The All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE) and...

40 crocodiles kill Cambodian man after he tries to move one

A Cambodian man met a tragic fate on Friday...

New Parliament building inauguration: Centre to issue Rs 75 coin

On Thursday, the Union Government announced its plans to...

AICTE-EduSkills offers 1 lakh internships in 12 different domains

AICTE, in collaboration with EduSkills Foundation, aims to build...

Plea in SC seeks inauguration of new Parliament building by President

An advocate has filed a PIL with the Supreme...

Unlocking opportunities for smallholder farmers, National Conclave explores digital platforms

A National Conclave on Market Access for Smallholder Farmers,...

Bihar ranks third in best states in National Water Awards 2022

The state of Bihar has been ranked third in...

Fresh violence in Manipur: Houses set on fire in Imphal, army called in

Fresh incidents of violence were reported in Manipur on...

Market access for smallholder farmers: A national conclave to drive digital solutions

Grameen Foundation India, in collaboration with the Walmart Foundation,...

Rs 2000 currency notes withdrawal: Here’s how to deposit or exchange

As the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) has made...

Congress names Siddaramaiah as Karnataka CM, Shivakumar as deputy

The Congress on Thursday announced Siddaramaiah as the newly...

Global warming likely to breach 1.5C by 2027, warn scientists

The World Meteorological Organization has warned that there is...

Man arrested for smoking beedi on Bengaluru-bound Akasa Air flight

A man aged 56, who was onboard an Akasa...

Uttarakhand Sanskrit University registrar accused of corruption

A press conference was held at the Press Club...

National Atal Samman Ceremony held at Prime Minister’s Museum, honouring 18 dignitaries

On the occasion of the commemoration of the first...

TCS and Intellect in race for new GeM portal development tender

16th May, 2023 , Delhi: The Central Government had...

‘London plan is out’: Imran Khan claims Pakistan military plans to jail him for 10 years

Imran Khan, Pakistan's former Prime Minister, has made new...

Aryan Khan case: CBI FIR reveals ‘conspiracy’ to extort Rs 25 crore

The First Information Report (FIR) filed by the Central...

PM Modi congratulates Congress for Karnataka win: ‘Best wishes to them’

As Congress surpassed the 113-seat majority mark in the...

‘I’m unstoppable’: Rahul Gandhi features in video as Congress wins Karnataka

As per the early trends, the Congress party seems...