Monday, May 29, 2023
HomeSportsT20 World Cup 2021, Final, AUS vs NZ: Kane Williamson's captaincy knock...

T20 World Cup 2021, Final, AUS vs NZ: Kane Williamson’s captaincy knock help Kiwis reach 172 in the Final

Published Date:

T20 World Cup has reached the final stage with New Zealand and Australia clashing against each other to win their first ever T20 World Championship.

This is a really crucial match for both the team as they have reached here after fighting against all odds and this is an opportunity for both of them to win their first ever T20 World Cup.

Australia won the toss and elected to bowl first. Kiwis batting first managed to score 172 at the loss of 5 wickets in 20 overs.

Kane Williamson played a great and crucial knock of 85 runs of 48 deliveries and helped his side reach a fighting total of 172 in the final match of T20 World Cup.

Josh Hazlewood bowled a beautiful spell for his side and grabbed 3 crucial wickets in his four over spell for just 16 runs.

Match Summary

Australia won the toss and invited New Zealand to bat first. Martin Guptill and Daryl Mitchell came to open the innings for New Zealand.

credit: Cricbuzz/twitter

The openers failed to gave their team a start as Josh Hazlewood gave Kiwis their first blow in the fourth over itself.

Daryl Mitchell got out after scoring 11 runs of 8 balls. Kiwis lost their hero of Semifinals early in the innings.

The Skipper Kane Williamson came into join Guptill and progress the scoreboard. Both of them joined 48 runs and helped Kiwis in the early innings.

New Zealand’s run rate in the first 10 overs was below 6 as they could only manage to score 57 runs in the first 10 overs at the loss of 1 wicket.

Australia in the very next over of Mitchell Starc lost the chance to grab the crucial wicket of Kane Williamson as Josh Hazlewood dropped his catch on the boundary lane. A mistake Aussies went on regretting by the end of the innings.

credit: Cricbuzz/twitter

Kane Williamson then went on smashing three consecutive boundaries in the same over.

Adam Zampa gave Aussies a much needed breakthrough in the 12th over as he dismissed Martin Guptill on the score of 28 balls of 35 balls.

Glenn Phillips joined Kane Williamson who completed his half century in the 13th over.

Williamson changed the gear and started firing blazing shots and even smashed 22 runs in the 16th over of Mitchell Starc.

Phillips and Williamson joined a quick 68 partnership out of which Glenn Phillips only scored 18 runs.

Josh Hazlewood came in aid of the Aussies as he dismissed both the set batsmen in the same over. Glenn Phillips got out after scoring 18 runs of 17 balls.

credit: Cricbuzz/twitter

Kane Williamson played a great and crucial knock of 85 runs of just 48 balls and helped his side to reach a respectable total.

Now James Neesham and Tim Seifert were on the pitch with the role of giving their team a big finish.

Both of them joined 23 runs in the last two overs and helped their side finish with 172 on the scoreboard.

Kiwis could only score 57 in the first half of the innings and then smashed 115 in the second half. They finish their innings on 172 at the loss of 4 wickets and now have provided their bowlers a fighting chance.

The contest will be really thrilling considering the batting line-up of Aussies and the Kiwis’ bowling line up.

ALSO READ: T20 World Cup-3 Players that can replace Devon Conway in the final

Multi-media Journalist, Nikhil works as a Sub-Editor at The Vocal News. A sports enthusiast, who loves to follow and write about sports - Cricket, Football, Tennis, WWE, and many others. He is also a Movie cum Sports enthusiast and enjoys music. He has done Graduation in Journalism and Mass Communication from Chaudhary Charan Singh University.

Fresh Stories

More like this

AICTE, SSUN organise workshop on ‘Implementation of NEP 2020 in Technical Education’

The All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE) and...

40 crocodiles kill Cambodian man after he tries to move one

A Cambodian man met a tragic fate on Friday...

New Parliament building inauguration: Centre to issue Rs 75 coin

On Thursday, the Union Government announced its plans to...

AICTE-EduSkills offers 1 lakh internships in 12 different domains

AICTE, in collaboration with EduSkills Foundation, aims to build...

Plea in SC seeks inauguration of new Parliament building by President

An advocate has filed a PIL with the Supreme...

Unlocking opportunities for smallholder farmers, National Conclave explores digital platforms

A National Conclave on Market Access for Smallholder Farmers,...

Bihar ranks third in best states in National Water Awards 2022

The state of Bihar has been ranked third in...

Fresh violence in Manipur: Houses set on fire in Imphal, army called in

Fresh incidents of violence were reported in Manipur on...

Market access for smallholder farmers: A national conclave to drive digital solutions

Grameen Foundation India, in collaboration with the Walmart Foundation,...

Rs 2000 currency notes withdrawal: Here’s how to deposit or exchange

As the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) has made...

Congress names Siddaramaiah as Karnataka CM, Shivakumar as deputy

The Congress on Thursday announced Siddaramaiah as the newly...

Global warming likely to breach 1.5C by 2027, warn scientists

The World Meteorological Organization has warned that there is...

Man arrested for smoking beedi on Bengaluru-bound Akasa Air flight

A man aged 56, who was onboard an Akasa...

Uttarakhand Sanskrit University registrar accused of corruption

A press conference was held at the Press Club...

National Atal Samman Ceremony held at Prime Minister’s Museum, honouring 18 dignitaries

On the occasion of the commemoration of the first...

TCS and Intellect in race for new GeM portal development tender

16th May, 2023 , Delhi: The Central Government had...

‘London plan is out’: Imran Khan claims Pakistan military plans to jail him for 10 years

Imran Khan, Pakistan's former Prime Minister, has made new...

Aryan Khan case: CBI FIR reveals ‘conspiracy’ to extort Rs 25 crore

The First Information Report (FIR) filed by the Central...

PM Modi congratulates Congress for Karnataka win: ‘Best wishes to them’

As Congress surpassed the 113-seat majority mark in the...

‘I’m unstoppable’: Rahul Gandhi features in video as Congress wins Karnataka

As per the early trends, the Congress party seems...