T20 World Cup: Little master Gavaskar picks his 15-man squad, leaves out Dhawan

Sunil Gavaskar
Image credit: Twitter

With the T20 World Cup in 2021 approaching, there has been a lot of conjecture regarding who will be selected for Team India.

This year’s tournament will take place in the United Arab Emirates, and every team in the world will be contending for the prized title when they take the field.

Cricket icon Sunil Gavaskar has chimed in and named his 15-man squad for the showpiece event ahead of an official announcement of the Indian contingent.

Shikhar Dhawan, was left out of the squad, and Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli will begin the batting.

He then included three Mumbai Indians players to his squad.

Suryakumar Yadav will bat third, followed by the Pandya brothers, Hardik and Krunal, in the middle order.

T20 World Cup
Image credit: Twitter

Meanwhile, Ravindra Jadeja and Washington Sundar were the other two all-rounders.

In addition, Gavaskar named five pacers in his squad: Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar, and Mohammed Shami.

Yuzvendra Chahal was the only specialist spinner who made it.

Speaking on the inclusion of Krunal in the team, the original Little Master said on Sports Tak, “He’s an all-rounder; a very experienced player, has performed very well in the IPL for the past many years so he surely deserves a place. He’s left-hander, which is an advantage as well.”

Click here for latest Sports news

Sunil Gavaskar’s India squad for T20 World Cup 2021:

Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli (c), KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav; Rishabh Pant (wk), Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar (subject to fitness); Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur and Yuzvendra Chahal.

ALSO READ: T20 World Cup-Dinesh Karthik Predicts Top Scorer Of The Tournament