Sunday, May 28, 2023
HomeSportsTokyo Paralympics: List of Indian medal winners so far

Tokyo Paralympics: List of Indian medal winners so far

Published Date:

Tokyo Paralympics: This is the golden year for India, as first in Tokyo Olympic India won it’s first Gold medal in Athletics with 6 more medals.

Similarly at the Paralympics as they produced as many as 8 medals for the country, including two golds.

Here’s the list of medals won by Indian contender at Paralympics so far.

Avani Lekhara

Image credit: Twitter

Shooter Avani Lekhara made history by being the first Indian woman to earn a gold medal at the Paralympics, taking first place in the R-2 women’s 10m Air Rifle Standing SH1 event.

The 19-year-old Jaipur native, who was paralysed in a vehicle accident in 2012, ended with a world-record-tying total of 249.6, which is also a new Paralympic record.

Yogesh Kathuniya

Image credit: Twitter

Discus thrower Yogesh Kathuniya finished second, giving India its best-ever medal tally at the Games.

In his sixth and final effort to win silver, the 24-year-old, sent the disc to a best distance of 44.38m.

Kathuniya, the son of an Army soldier, suffered a paralytic attack when he was eight years old, leaving him with limb coordination issues.

Sumit Antil

Image credit: Twitter

Sumit Antil, a javelin thrower, won India’s second gold medal at the Paralympics on Monday, shattering the men’s F64 category world record three times in a remarkable Games debut performance.

The 23-year-old from Sonepat, Haryana, lost his left leg below the knee in a motorbike accident in 2015.

In his fifth effort, he sent the spear to 68.55m, which was the best of the day by a long shot and a new world record.

66.95, 68.08, 65.27, 66.71, 68.55, and foul were the numbers in his series.

Bhavnaben Patel

Image credit: Twitter

Following a 0-3 loss to world number one Chinese paddler Ying Zhou in the women’s singles table tennis class 4 final in Tokyo on Sunday, Bhavinaben Patel became only the second Indian woman to win a medal at the Paralympic Games.

Devendra Jhanjharia

Image credit: Twitter

Devendra Jhajharia, a two-time gold medalist in the javelin throw, won his third Paralympic medal, this time a silver.

The 40-year-old Jhajahria, who has already won gold medals in the 2004 and 2016 Paralympic Games, set a new personal best throw of 64.35 metres to take silver.

Jhajahria, who lost his left hand when he was eight years old after inadvertently touching an electric wire while climbing a tree, broke his own previous world record (63.97m)

Nishad Kumar

Tokyo Paralympics
Image credit: Twitter

On Sunday, high jumper Nishad Kumar won silver with an Asian record.

Nishad, a 21-year-old farmer’s son from Amb, Himachal Pradesh, won silver in the T47 class after clearing 2.06m.

Nishad, whose right hand was severed by a grass-cutting machine when he was eight years old on his family’s farm; cleared the same height of 2.06m as American Dallas Wise, who was also awarded a silver medal.

Sundar Singh Gurjar

Tokyo Paralympics
Image credit: Twitter

Sundar Singh Gurjar took bronze in the men’s javelin throw F46 final, placing second behind Jhajharia at Tokyo Paralympics.

Gurjar, 25, was third with a best attempt of 64.01m. He loses his left hand in 2015 after a metal sheet fell on him at a friend’s house.

Gurjar, who is from Jaipur, won gold in the World Para Athletics Championships in 2017 and 2019.

He also took silver at the 2018 Para Asian Games in Jakarta.

Singhraj Adhana

Tokyo Paralympics
Image credit: Twitter

In the final of the Tokyo Paralympics on Tuesday, India’s Singhraj Adhana won bronze in the men’s 10m Air Pistol (SH1) event. He won medal with with 216.8 points.

ALSO READ: Tokyo Paralympics-Indian Javelin Thrower Sumit Antil Wins Gold And Sets New World Record

Priti Yadav
Priti Yadav
An aspiring journalist with thirst of exploring new things. Enthusiastic in field of Cricket. Admirer of MS Dhoni and obsessed with his winning sixes.

Fresh Stories

More like this

40 crocodiles kill Cambodian man after he tries to move one

A Cambodian man met a tragic fate on Friday...

New Parliament building inauguration: Centre to issue Rs 75 coin

On Thursday, the Union Government announced its plans to...

AICTE-EduSkills offers 1 lakh internships in 12 different domains

AICTE, in collaboration with EduSkills Foundation, aims to build...

Plea in SC seeks inauguration of new Parliament building by President

An advocate has filed a PIL with the Supreme...

Unlocking opportunities for smallholder farmers, National Conclave explores digital platforms

A National Conclave on Market Access for Smallholder Farmers,...

Bihar ranks third in best states in National Water Awards 2022

The state of Bihar has been ranked third in...

Fresh violence in Manipur: Houses set on fire in Imphal, army called in

Fresh incidents of violence were reported in Manipur on...

Market access for smallholder farmers: A national conclave to drive digital solutions

Grameen Foundation India, in collaboration with the Walmart Foundation,...

Rs 2000 currency notes withdrawal: Here’s how to deposit or exchange

As the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) has made...

Congress names Siddaramaiah as Karnataka CM, Shivakumar as deputy

The Congress on Thursday announced Siddaramaiah as the newly...

Global warming likely to breach 1.5C by 2027, warn scientists

The World Meteorological Organization has warned that there is...

Man arrested for smoking beedi on Bengaluru-bound Akasa Air flight

A man aged 56, who was onboard an Akasa...

Uttarakhand Sanskrit University registrar accused of corruption

A press conference was held at the Press Club...

National Atal Samman Ceremony held at Prime Minister’s Museum, honouring 18 dignitaries

On the occasion of the commemoration of the first...

TCS and Intellect in race for new GeM portal development tender

16th May, 2023 , Delhi: The Central Government had...

‘London plan is out’: Imran Khan claims Pakistan military plans to jail him for 10 years

Imran Khan, Pakistan's former Prime Minister, has made new...

Aryan Khan case: CBI FIR reveals ‘conspiracy’ to extort Rs 25 crore

The First Information Report (FIR) filed by the Central...

PM Modi congratulates Congress for Karnataka win: ‘Best wishes to them’

As Congress surpassed the 113-seat majority mark in the...

‘I’m unstoppable’: Rahul Gandhi features in video as Congress wins Karnataka

As per the early trends, the Congress party seems...

Imran Khan gets two-week bail after Pakistan SC called arrest ‘illegal’

Former Prime Minister Imran Khan, who was arrested on...