WrestleMania Backlash 2021 Results: Reigns retains title, Mysterios script history

WWE WrestleMania Backlash 2021
Image Credits: @wwe.com

On Sunday night, WWE held WrestleMania Backlash, a broadcast that hinted at further fallout from April’s big two-night WrestleMania extravaganza. The main event match between Roman Reigns and Cesaro stole the stage, with both men putting in tremendous effort to produce an instant Match of the Year contender.

The only belt to change hands at WWE Wrestlemania Backlash was the WWE Smackdown Tag Team Championship, which Rey Mysterio and his son Dominik Mysterio won from Dolph Ziggler and Robert Roode. They made headlines by becoming the first father-son pairing to retain the WWE tag team championships.

ALSO READ: Watch – Dhoni Imitates Ravindra Jadeja’s Sword Celebration

WWE WrestleMania Backlash results:

Universal Championship – Roman Reigns (c) defeated Cesaro

Despite a valiant effort from Cesaro, Reigns had this in the bag, submitting Cesaro with a guillotine to retain the Universal title. Cesaro enhanced his status as a big-money player by making several spectacular attempts to knock Reigns off his feet. Seth Rollins viciously assaulted Cesaro after the match, kicking off his next big show and a sustained drive for him as a singles wrestler.

WWE Championship – Bobby Lashley (c) defeat Drew McIntyre vs. Braun Strowman

The match was dominated by Strowman and McIntyre for the majority of the time, with Lashley being eliminated early on. But after McIntyre struck Strowman with a Claymore, he dashed to the centre. To retain the title, Lashley shoved McIntyre aside and struck Stowman with a sphere.

SmackDown Tag Team Championship – Rey & Dominik Mysterio defeat Robert Roode & Dolph Ziggler

Since an unconscious Dominik was checked out backstage before the match, Rey Mysterio worked the majority of the match. Roode and Ziggler played well with the luchador, only for Dominik to return and, after further punishment, link with the frog splash on Roode and win his first WWE championship.

Other Results: 

Bianca Belair beat Bayley to retain WWE Women’s SmackDown Championship

Rhea Ripley beat Charlotte Flair and Asuka to retain the WWE Women’s RAW Championship

Sheamus beat Ricochet