WTC Final: Virat Kohli surpasses MS Dhoni’s Test captaincy milestone

WTC Final: Virat Kohli surpasses MS Dhoni’s Test captaincy milestone
Image credit: @ICC/ Twitter

Virat Kohli surpassed MS Dhoni’s record of heading the Indian squad in the most Test matches when he stepped out for toss with Kane Williamson of New Zealand in the World Test Championship (WTC) final at The Ageas Bowl.

Kohli’s 61st match as India’s captain in the longest format of the game, the World Test Championship (WTC) final, sets a new record.

After captaining India in 60 Test matches, Dhoni withdrew from the game in December 2014.

Kohli is also the longest-serving Test captain for an Asian country, with Arjuna Ranatunga of Sri Lanka and Misbah-ul-Haq of Pakistan trailing behind him, having captained their respective countries in 56 Test matches apiece.

Graeme Smith of South Africa is the longest-serving Test captain in history, having led the Proteas to a record 109 victories.

Image credit: Twitter

He is the only player to captain more than 100 Tests, with Allan Border of Australia coming in second with 93 Tests.

In the much-anticipated World Test Championship (WTC) final against India on Saturday, New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson won the toss and chose to field first.

The first day’s play was cancelled due to persistent rain.

During the toss, India skipper Virat Kohli said, “We would’ve probably bowled first as well. But runs on the board has been our strength. In a big final, runs on the board, however many, are an advantage. As you saw the makeup of our side, the balance is such that we prepare for any conditions.

“We’ve been performing really well in Test cricket. For us this is just a Test match we have to be professional in, have to follow our processes.”

ALSO READ: From 2003 To 2019-ICC Test Championship Mace Winners List