In a bid to better align with common practices across the industry, tech giant Google is all set to introduce new policies for user accounts that are either inactive or over their storage limit across Gmail as well as Drive, effective from June 1 next year.
This includes Google Docs, Slides, Drawings, Sheets, Forms and Jamboard files and Photos.
If you are inactive in any of these services for two years, Google may delete your content, and this happens after June 1, 2021.
Similarly, Google may delete your content if you exceed the storage limit for two years across Gmail, Drive and Photos, the company said.
You can manage specific content using the Inactive Account Manager and can notify a trusted contact in case you stop using your Google Account between 3-18 months. But Google made it clear that the new policy will apply regardless of your Inactive Account Manager settings.
Trick to evade this
Google will notify the users multiple times before removing any content, hence providing the users ample opportunities to take action.
Keep your account active by periodically visiting Gmail, Drive or Photos on the web or mobile.