Meta, a company controlled by Mark Zuckerberg, is introducing new tools to safeguard young people’s privacy on Facebook and Instagram. The business said that it is providing new privacy defaults for teens in a blog post. They consist of privacy controls such as who can view their friends list, who can view the individuals, pages, and lists they follow, who can view the posts they’re tagged in on their profile, and more.
New Tool to Restrict the Spread of Teens’ Intimate Photos
In order to stop the spread of teen’s intimate photos, Facebook announced that it is collaborating with National Center for Missing and Exploited Children (NCMEC) to create a global platform for teenagers who are concerned that intimate photos they created could be shared on public online platforms without their consent. According to Facebook, the technology can be utilised by other digital businesses and will aid in preventing teens’ intimate photos from being shared online.
Updates to Limiting Interactions You Don’t Want
The most popular social networking site is introducing measures to prevent teenagers from messaging worrisome adults they are not related to. Facebook will not display these “suspect adultis” in teen recommendations under People You May Know. According to the business, an adult account that may have recently been blocked or reported by a child, for instance, is considered “suspect.”
Facebook is also experimenting with completely eliminating the messaging option from teen Instagram profiles when they are seen by untrustworthy adults. The teen’s Instagram account will benefit from an additional degree of security as a result.
New notifications from Meta will encourage teenagers to use Facebook and Instagram’s privacy settings. After blocking someone, it encourages teenagers to report accounts. Additionally, the platform sends users safety alerts with instructions on how to avoid inappropriate inappropriate messaging.
Facebook’s new privacy settings for teens
Users who join Facebook and Instagram under the age of 16 (or 18 in some countries) will have their privacy settings set to a higher level by default.
- Who can view their friend list?
- Who has access to the Pages, Lists, and Followers they maintain?
- Who can view the posts they’re tagged in on their profile?
- Reviewing posts in which they have been tagged before they appear on their profile
- Who is permitted to leave comments on their open postings