Signal vs WhatsApp: 11 Signal features that are missing on WhatsApp

Signal vs WhatsApp
Signal vs WhatsApp

Signal vs WhatsApp: WhatsApp’s new privacy policy has sparked major concerns among users. As a result, many WhatsApp users are switching to Signal, Telegram and other instant messaging platforms.

Signal has received high praise lately because it collects almost no personal information unlike the Facebook-owned WhatsApp.

Furthermore, there are only a few hidden settings in Signal that allow for more privacy and makes it almost difficult for third parties to even track messages.

On the flip side, however, there are some WhatsApp features that are missing in Signal, so, you can also check them out.

Here are 11 things you can do in Signal to keep your chats safe. Although some functions are also available on WhatsApp but they are not as effective.

Signal vs WhatsApp

Register on Signal using a virtual phone number

Signal does not track your contact book or link your phone number to create your digital profile.

Though, a phone number is required for initial registration, but you can use a virtual phone number to verify the OTP. You can use any virtual phone number app like TextNow to register on Signal, then activate a PIN to take control of your account.

Display Picture and name

While signing up on Signal, do not put your own photo as a display photo and do not use your real name to ensure the highest level of privacy.

You can also do this on WhatsApp, but since you have been using WhatsApp for so long, the metadata is already stored and linked to your digital profile. So, if you suddenly decide to change your name and photo, it would be less effective.

Enable PIN and Registration lock

Your signal account is not linked to your phone number. The advantage of using Signal is that the account is linked to a PIN code that only you know. This makes it difficult to track users.

For added security, go to your privacy settings and enable ‘Registration lock’. This prevents unauthorised access to your Signal account from another device.

Disable ‘Use system contact photos’ option

Under Appearance settings, find the ‘Use system contact photos’ and disable it. This will prevent images from your default contact book from showing up on Signal.

Disable Read receipts and enable ‘Always Relay Calls’ option

Deactivate the option “Read receipts” under “Privacy settings” and activate the option “Always Relay Calls” to prevent exposing your IP address to your contact. Disabling read receipts simply removes unwanted metadata information.

Disable ‘Show Calls in Recents’ option

If you are using an iPhone, go to your privacy settings and turn off “Show calls in Recent.” This will prevent all Signal voice and video calls from appearing in the call history.

Set ‘Screen timeout’ to 1 minute

To prevent unwanted access to chat, set the ‘Screen timeout’ to at least 1 minute to lock your Signal app and prevent unwanted access to other people.

Disable ‘Allow from Anyone’ option

Go to the privacy settings and uncheck the “Allow from everyone” option. This prevents unknown people from contacting you through Signal.

Disable ‘Debug Log’

Under Advanced settings, disable Debug log for additional privacy.

Verify safety number of each contacts

Make sure to verify each contact on Signal before you start chatting with them.

Enable disappearing messages and set timer

The disappearing messages feature works much better on Signal than it does on WhatsApp.

Even if one party has this option enabled, the other party is obliged to follow it. This makes it effective and you can set the message to disappear to a minimum of 5 seconds. This will simply delete the message after you have seen it for 5 seconds.

Meanwhile, you can also check out Signal Or Telegram: Which App Is More Secure.

Watch this space of The Vocal News for more Tech and Gadgets Updates!