Lunar Eclipse May 26: Super Blood Moon you will see tonight

Lunar Eclipse May 26: Super Blood Moon to appear tonight
Image: Pexel

Moon will be the closest to Earth today on May 26. This will mark the largest full Moon appearance of the year 2021. This is also known as the Super Moon.

Also, today’s supermoon is even more special since it coincides with this year’s only total lunar eclipse. This happens to be the first total lunar eclipse since January 2019.

As two big celestial events are taking place together, this is also called as a Super Blood Moon.

Moon’s red colour comes from earth blocking out most of the Sun’s light from reaching the moon. It filters out the remaining light to give the Moon its glowy red ‘total lunar eclipse’ shade.

This total lunar eclipse will start at 2:17 pm as per Indian Standard Timing (IST) and will be visible until 7:19 pm.

The lunar eclipse will be visible in East Asia, Australia, the Pacific, and Americas.

According to NASA, the Blood Moon will appear for three hours and seven minutes this year. It includes time for both partial eclipse and total eclipse.

The total eclipse will remain in existence for about 15 minutes, which will begin from 08:47 am UTC (2:17 pm IST).

The full eclipse will appear at 11:11 am UTC (4:41 pm IST) and end at 11:25 am UTC (4:55 pm IST). The lunar event will completely end at 01:49 pm (7:19 am IST).

Some of the cities where this Blood Moon is likely to visible include Honolulu, Houston, Los Angeles, Manila, Melbourne, San Francisco, Seoul, Shanghai, and Tokyo.

Other cities which will get their partial appearance include Bangkok, Chicago, Dhaka, Montreal, New York, Toronto, and Yangon. India, however, will get only its appearance as a penumbral lunar eclipse.

ALSO READ: Blood Moon On May 26 | Facts You Need To Know About Lunar Eclipse