Pakistan PM Imran Khan wins trust vote in National Assembly

Pakistan Govt Bans Radical Islamist Party Tehrik-i-Labiak party
Image Credit: @ImranKhanPTI

Pakistan Prime Minister Imran Khan-led government won a trust vote in the National Assembly. The floor test was held amid a boycott call given by the opposition parties.

This comes after the defeat of the finance minister in the hotly-contested Senate Elections.

During a special session, PM Imran Khan managed to secure 178 votes in the 342-member lower house of the parliament. The special session was held on the directive of President Arid Alvi.

Click here for more such stories

The opposition alliance Pakistan Democratic Movement (PDM) did not take part in the voting to boycott the floor test. Pakistan Democratic Movement is a coalition of 11 parties.

PM Imran Khan had decided to undergo floor tests in the lower house of the parliament after his finance minister Abdul Hafeez Shaikh was defeated in the Senate election.

After the finance minister lost the election, the demand for the resignation of PM Imran Khan was raised by the opposition. Following this, foreign minister Shah Mahmood Qureshi presented a single-point resolution in the house.

“That this House reposes confidence in the Prime Minister of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan, Mr Imran Khan, as required under clause (7) of Article 91 of the Constitution Islamic Republic of Pakistan,” the resolution said.

ALSO READ: Know all about explosives scare near Mukesh Ambani’s house